Different Levels And Classes Of Polished Concrete Flooring

When improving establishments, one of the most important item individuals need to enhance is their floors. Of course, there are numerous flooring solutions that can complement your establishments. Not to mention, flooring solutions can also help you ensure that you can improve the appeal of your homes.

When it comes to such solutions, more and more individuals are opting for polished concrete flooring due to its durability. In addition, this type of flooring is easy to maintain. However, individuals need to be aware that there are different levels and classes of polished concrete flooring. Experts classify finished gloss levels in ranges from 1 through 4 and aggregate exposures as A, B, C or D, depending on the degree of exposure. To know more, below is a brief description of the levels and classes of polished concrete flooring.

Gloss levels

Level 1

Level 1 or the flat ground polish can be obtained by making use of 100-grit resin bond or below. With this, the floor will appear a bit hazy with little or no clarity or reflection.

Level 2

Level 2 or satin polish can be obtained by stopping at the 400-grit resin bond. With this, it produces a low-sheen finish which create a low-luster matte finish.

Level 3

Level 3 also known as a semi-polished flooring is achieved by going up to an 800-grit or higher diamond abrasive. Because of this, the floor surface will have a much higher sheen than that of level 2 finish. And, individuals will start to see good light reflectivity.

Level 4

Level 4 also known as the highly polished flooring produces a high degree of shine. As a result, when you standing directly over the surface, you can see your reflection with total clarity. Other than that, the floor appears to be wet when viewed from different vantage points. There are different ways to achieve a level 4 flooring. For one, individuals can use a 3,000-grit resin-bond diamond. Or perhaps, individuals can use a high-speed burnisher outfitted with specialty buffing pads.

Aggregate exposure classes

With regard to aggregate exposure classes, individuals can identify its class by checking floor surface.

Class A

Class A features a cream exposure. And, individuals can also notice some blemishes and imperfections.

Class B

A Class B features a fine aggregate also known as a salt and pepper finish.

Class C

A Class C has a medium aggregate exposure where individuals can notice little or no large aggregate exposure at random locations.

Class D

A Class D features a large aggregate with little or no fine aggregate exposure.

Knowing all these can help individuals find the best level and aggregate exposure of polished concrete flooring that can match their establishments and needs.